Blogs Everywhere!

My first workable attempts at blogging happened on WordPress, which is still the most powerful blogging platform I've seen. But some WordPress things irritate me – while it's great for well crafted long form blogs, it's way too much work for a quick spurt of an idea or simply sharing a video or a quote. That drove me to focus on Tumblr, a micro-blogging service. It's quick and easy, but really not very good for longer form posting. That ultimately drove me to posterous, a nice compromise that works for just about anything. But it doesn't look like posterous drives many readers in my direction. What to do? What to do?

The good folks at posterous have provided a solution. Through their site (and using the e-mail interface), I can direct postings to all three sites. Automatic cross-posting looks great! So, my current thinking is that everything gets posted to my posterous site, long form stuff also goes to Thinking Things Through, and quickies go to my Tumblr site. Why bother? Well, if you bother to blog at all, you must believe that what you have to say needs to be read by someone, and the more the better. Cross posting should let me reach a broader audience. Of course, that might mean that I look silly to a larger number of people, but that's a chance I'm willing to take.

Leave a Reply

