Inspiration

It seems that every time I start questioning whether this blog is a total waste of time, something or someone comes along to inspire me. Today it was reading this piece by Arnold Kling. More importantly, Mr. Kling motivated me to read the original paper (pdf) that sparked his interest.

I fall into the camp that says the incentives for coercion are quite strong and that any workable society must be an uneasy compromise between libertarian ideals and “might makes right”. But I had not thought much about the power of preference and social pressure. The peaceful abolition of slavery serves as a good example. The good news is that I can see the “uneasy compromise” leaning much more toward the ideal than I previously thought. This, of course, is possible only with education and evangelism – another reason to continue my tiny contribution.

Leave a Reply

